Baby shower favors

Honey sticksArmed once more with Illustrator and a color printer, plus scissors, a glue stick, and x-acto knife, I started in on making favors for this weekend’s baby shower. (You may already have read about the invitations and note cards, and caught my honey pot tutorial from yesterday, but in case you didn’t, there are the links for you.)

I started with boxes of Glorybee “Honeystix.” (Side note for a pleased customer testimonial: I ordered them last Wednesday because normal shipping with UPS would take “5-7 business days for arrival.” During checkout, I added a note that I hoped they would arrive by this Friday. I got a phone call the next day, first letting me know that they were out of lemon-flavored honey sticks, so I substituted blackberry flavored, then telling me that since it was a relatively small shipment, they would send it by Priority Mail so that I would get it sooner, and, incidentally, save three dollars off of shipping. The package came on Monday but I wasn’t home, so I picked it up at the post office on Tuesday.)

We had planned on four honey sticks per person (two clover, one peach, one blackberry), so I measured the honey sticks and figured out that I would need to make a 7.25″ x 1.5″ sleeve or envelope to hold the honey sticks. Then I fired up Illustrator and designed the envelope. Starting with a 7.25″ x 1.5″ rectangle, I added a baby bee stock vector graphic, the daisies that I had made from the invitation, and some custom-drawn honey pots. I added some envelope-shapes around the rectangle and put a larger version of my daisy on the “flap” of the envelope.

Honey sticks template

I printed out one test to check the colors and actually cut it out and taped it together to make sure it would work. The size was fine, but I found it hard to fold the long sides without making the envelope crooked or wrinkled. I moved the side flap shapes away from the main rectangle about one or two pixels so that there would be a fine white line to act as a guide for me. I also thought it would be cute to have some sort of cut-out shape in the middle so that you could see the honey sticks inside, so I added a heart.

Attempt #2:

Honey sticks template, revised

I duplicated the envelope to make two on a page, then printed out ten copies. I used a paper cutter to slice away the long edges, then hand-cut the rounded portions with scissors and cut out the heart with an x-acto knife. Using my fine white lines as guides, I folded the edges and glue-sticked them shut, then glued the bottom flap and creased the top flap. The photo below shows the boxes of honey sticks, my printed envelopes, one cut out, and one folded:

Materials

In this photo, I’ve started to fill some of the sleeves with honey sticks. I was happy that I had ended up with the blackberry flavored sticks instead of lemon, because it made for a colorful and pretty mixture.

In progress

Here is a close-up of the sleeve — I used the stock baby bee vector graphic I had used for the thank-you cards (after adding a “shadow” shape to help anchor it down) and scattered my Illustrator-drawn daisies about. The “Thanks” uses Scriptina font and the other text is in Myriad. You can see the heart cut-out with pretty honey sticks behind it pretty well.

Close-up of honey stick holder

This next photo shows the other half — you can see my custom-drawn honey pots explaining what kinds of honey are included, as well as the big daisy on the flap of the back side of the envelope.

Close-up of honey stick holder

Of course, I had to stage a picture of all the completed honey stick packets:

Completed honey stick holders

I’m glad this was for a relatively small baby shower (I made 20 packets). I like making things with my hands, but doing any more and my neck would have cramped up from leaning over so much!

14 Comments

  1. gilda
    Posted April 19, 2007 at 10:20 am | Permalink

    BEAUTIFUL… that’s better than any shower gift you could have bought online or in the store! Oh and I love the bee graphics!

  2. Posted April 19, 2007 at 10:33 am | Permalink

    wow!!

  3. Posted April 19, 2007 at 11:14 am | Permalink

    Gilda – Heh heh, and they cost pennies apiece! (Well, not including printer ink, paper, and labor.) If I can do something with paper “for free” instead of buying it — I’m doing it!

    Penny – Thanks! :)

  4. Posted April 19, 2007 at 11:38 am | Permalink

    I agree with Penny: Wow!!

    This is what people mean when they say you are creative. You found a baby bee and drew flowers and honeypots and thought up the design for the envelopes, and that they should have a cut out heart to see the stix. It comes so naturally to you that you don’t realize that the rest of us just kind of gimp around. Beautiful! The whole thing.

    Can you line all the items you made up in a little tableau and take a photo.

  5. Posted April 19, 2007 at 11:50 am | Permalink

    doodah – Will do! I would have taken a photo of everything earlier if I had a decent space large enough to take a picture of them without other clutter getting in the way.

    Okay, okay, I actually felt creative when I was making all of these baby shower things. But again, I’m making tangible products. I just can’t seem to capture that same feeling enough when I’m pushing pixels around on a screen. Which makes me wonder — if someone were paying me to make all this stuff, would I feel “creative” or not? Hmmmm.

  6. Kristine
    Posted April 19, 2007 at 12:04 pm | Permalink

    Awesome. Love them. Be sure to post pictures of the whole shower in action. I’m sure it’s going to be a great time!

  7. kristin
    Posted March 24, 2008 at 7:08 pm | Permalink

    would you sell this set up to me either to print or already assembled? Thanks!

  8. Posted April 13, 2009 at 9:14 am | Permalink

    Clever – you are very talented! Thanks for sharing.
    Toni

  9. tiffany
    Posted June 18, 2010 at 12:00 pm | Permalink

    These are beautiful! Omg! You wouldn’t sell these as party favors? I’m planning an October baby shower, can you help to teach me the steps if they aren’t available for purchasing?

    • Posted June 19, 2010 at 1:42 am | Permalink

      Hi Tiffany – these were custom-designed and not for sale, but I’ll email you to give you some tips!

  10. Rachel
    Posted September 13, 2011 at 3:51 pm | Permalink

    I absolutely love the idea. I am doing a bumble bee themed baby shower in may and these have definitely inspired some ideas.

  11. Posted February 7, 2012 at 7:16 am | Permalink

    what sort of paper type would you recommend if you did this again? thanks!

  12. Anna
    Posted April 27, 2012 at 7:34 pm | Permalink

    Thanks so much for sharing – I think I’m going to give this a go for a friend’s shower!
    Anna

  13. mary
    Posted July 5, 2012 at 7:10 am | Permalink

    Hi, Tiffany,
    I love that you describe everything in detail, but I can’t see any illustrations of what you’re describing. Help!
    thanks, Mary


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

