GTD Project List Form v1

In my previous post about Getting Things Done, I mentioned that I had created forms for keeping track of my projects. As promised, here is my first post about one of my forms — a Project List Form.

Project Concept

A little bit of GTD theory: David Allen defines anything that will take more than one or two steps as a “project.” So a Project could be an actual work project (“Health Spa Web Site”) or a personal project (“Make a quilt”), but it could also be something like “Get clutch fixed on car” because you have to 1) call your friend for a mechanic reference, 2) call the mechanic, and 3) bring the car in.

Allen advises that you have some sort of project master list that you review weekly, to remind you of all the unresolved stuff that you have going on.

Each project might also have support material, which would be the various reference items (such as the mechanic’s business card, or quilt pattern ideas) that you would need to use when working on the project. These materials should be filed away neatly somewhere so that you can pull them out as you are able to work on them.

The Project List Form v1

I designed a very basic project list form, perfect for my Circa/Rolla organizer.

Getting Things Done Project List form

  • Three color choices for the header: The headers are color coded similar to my Compact Project Task Cards. I use yellow for personal projects, blue for PixelMill projects, and pink for freelance projects.
  • 20 lines for listing projects.
  • Each line has a box on the left to allow you to notate a project code. The project code can be referenced on the project detail sheet (another blog on this later), your personal files, or on the Compact Project Task Card.
  • A juicy fat checkbox on the right. (I may revise this to be on the left — I think it’s more natural to scan down the list for incomplete projects if the checkbox is closer to the actual project title.)

Download

  • Project List Form v1project-list.pdf
    The PDF is editable in Illustrator, if you’re the kind of person that likes to customize things.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.

Usage example and notes

GTD Project List sample use

  • Each color is on its own page, so there are three pages. You can print out only one page if you want a single color. You can print your own double-sided sheets, but the forms are not designed to line up when double-sided.
  • I’ve been using numbers for project detail sheet codes and letters for mini-projects that fit on one of my Compact Project Task Cards.

Okay — so now I owe another blog post about my project detail form. Stay tuned!

Update 6/15: Go to the next part: GTD Project Detail Form v1 is up!

3 Comments

  1. Posted June 23, 2007 at 4:46 am | Permalink

    I like the use of different coloured forms for categorising your projects.

    Its important that I am clear what tasks are associated with each company project, particularly in reference to time bookings and conversations with project managers. I hadn’t really thought about how to handle the project list, until this week when I decided I needed to give it a go. My idea was to divide an A5 sheet in two and use each column for each company level project, with each individual project listed below (once the list is complete I will probably use a reference to link it to each task).

    Its a similar idea to yours, but certainly not as attractive.

  2. dal
    Posted February 4, 2008 at 4:52 pm | Permalink

    Hi… When talking about projects and keeping tabs on what needs to be done and what is already done, would you say the most basic idea is keeping a list of each project and maybe a file folder for individual projects and their next actions? i consider myself intelligent but for some reason I can’t get a very good grip on GTD even though I desperately want to. Thanks.

  3. Posted February 4, 2008 at 6:01 pm | Permalink

    Dal – I think GTD has you keep a list of all your ongoing projects which you can review each week to make sure you’re not missing anything. Theoretically your Next Action list would contain all next actions, including those that are related to projects. Then, if you need physical file folders for holding other papers and stuff related to each project (“project support material”), you can have those as well.

    My approach is to have my main project lists, separated by work/personal/freelance. The project detail form is really more of a “support material” item than a true next-action list — all of my next actions are in a separate location so I don’t have to look up each project detail form when I want to see what to do next. My project detail form is meant more for brainstorming.

    So to go back to more “pure” GTD — you’d have a project list that you would review once a week, a next action list where you put all your next actions (related to projects or single-task items not part of a project) that you review regularly, and optional project support files.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. [...] Project List Form v2 I [finally!] revised my Project List Form by swapping the positions of the checkbox and code box. This makes it easier to scan the project [...]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

