CSA Days 12 and 14: Turnip bisque, salad, and sausage-potato-kale soup

We went on a mini-vacation and when I got back, I started using up the rest of our CSA produce box.

Turnip bisque, salad

First up on Sunday night: Turnip bisque, which was an easy soup of simmered sweet potato, turnip, and leek, all pureed together with crispy shaved-and-baked turnip strips on top from the Eatwell Farm newsletter. I made a quick salad of sauteed mushrooms, oranges, and lettuce from the Farmer’s Market with some chopped arugula sprinkled in.

Sausage, potato, and kale soup

I still had a lovely bunch of kale as yet unused, so I found a recipe online for sausage, potato, and kale soup. I didn’t add chicken, used chopped fresh potatoes, and used only 1/2 lb. of mild Italian sausage. The result was a slightly spicy, savory soup that I brought to our church small group potluck.

3 Comments

  1. Posted January 31, 2008 at 4:53 pm | Permalink

    You are making me SO hungry for real food. I can’t wait to complete this kitchen renovation so I can eat normal again. I feel disgusting (and hungry) from this bad food.

    PLUS you are showing me new unique combinations that look so WONDERFUL!

    Thank you!!! Eat in good health.

  2. Posted February 3, 2008 at 4:52 pm | Permalink

    Hi Corrie!

    I like the pictures you took of your dishes- they look really great! The natural lighting is perfect. I thought I’d share this video I made with Miriam with you. We made a little impromptu cooking show about Juevos Rancheros. Its pretty long, so just watch the first and last few minutes if your interested. Hope everything is going well!

    http://brandonlem.com/2008/02/03/114/

  3. catherine
    Posted February 7, 2008 at 2:05 am | Permalink

    Can I please come for dinner at your place?! :)
    I am really, really impressed at how you’re using the contents of the box. It all looks so appetizing.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

