Sketching a schedule

If I had a day where I was able to fit in everything that I wanted to do, what would it look like? Perhaps something like what’s below. Although times are listed here, this is a rough guide — an “ideal day,” shall we say.

  • 5:20-8:30 – Crawl out of bed. Make lunch for hubby. Jot down tasks for today. Clear or run dishwasher. Have breakfast. Take meat out to defrost for dinner. Read Bible, pray. Exercise and shower. Blog or start a blog draft. Quick check of email and blogs.
  • 8:30-11:30 – 3 hours of work.
  • 11:30-12:30 – Finish blog draft, read blogs, have lunch.
  • 12:30-4:30 – 4 hours of work.
  • 4:30-5:30 – Practice harp, start dinner, not necessarily in that order.
  • 5:30-9:00 – Make and eat dinner. Hang out w/ hubby and/or friends.
  • 9:00-9:20 – Get to bed!

I’m not sure how entirely realistic this is, as I’ve definitely had days where I spent 2-3 hours putting together a blog (namely the ones that had a lot of screenshots). But perhaps this just means that I keep them as drafts and work on them over two days and think of something else for a quick post.

I do like the 3/4 work hour breakdown. Depending on my workload for the day, I could spend more time on client work and less time on PixelMill, or vice versa. On some days, I might do 3/2/2, where the first five hours would be spent on PixelMill, with two hours at the end of the day for smaller client tasks.

Well, it’s a good idea, anyway. I think I’ll track my time next week and see what “reality” looks like.

Backstory for the curious: I haven’t made a schedule for myself (or even an “ideal” schedule) in quite a while because I had a pretty varying daily schedule that worked around when my husband worked or went to school. Some days, he would have class in the mornings; other days, he would work from 2-10 pm. Since I usually would start working around 8 or 9, this meant that some days I would work 4 or 5 hours, and other days I would work 9 or 10 hours.

The rhythm of our lives have changed this week when my husband started a new job that goes from 7:30 am – 3:30 pm (requiring him to get up at 5:20 am). All of a sudden, my productive 10 hour days didn’t exist anymore. I now want to squeeze out all that I can during those hours that he is gone, so that I can hang out with him in the evenings.

Of course, it’s all going to change again. This is his spring break, so we’re still not sure what it will look like when school starts up again — he may try to attend an evening session with the same teacher (which means I may work longer days as he studies or is in class), or only work 3 days a week (which doesn’t change much for me). And then there are those days twice a month when I have my harp lesson.

But that’s life. I’m constantly making adjustments and trying out new systems. Luckily, I find it fun to make new systems!

2 thoughts on “Sketching a schedule

  1. Sounds like you have a (rough) plan! I was wondering why you build your schedule around Steve’s instead of just having a consistent schedule of your own? Was it to make sure you had time to spend with him?

  2. Doodah – Great question. Yes, it’s so that we can maximize the time we have together — although we never will completely match up eight-hour days because he sometimes has to study and I try to fit in harp/exercise/blogging into my day as well!

Leave a Reply

