Book bag

Here’s a static list of what I’m reading and have read recently….

Just finished:

Together Again by Saron Graham Niederhaus and John L. Graham
“A creative guide to successful multigenerational living.” Just happened to come across it when browsing non-fiction and it looked interesting, maybe because Steve and I lived with another family for a year (two adults who are our good friends and their two small children) and are planning to move in with housemates (another married couple) in the fall. Well, one of my sisters built a home relatively recently and included a basement “apartment” for guests and perhaps in-laws in the future, so that idea has been percolating in my brain already.

This book offered many interviews and stories of real-life people who have tried different ways to live with their parents, or children, or grandchildren. It also included lots of practical information as well as resources for people who are interested in making this change. The authors believe that another cultural shift is happening where the “nuclear family home” is going to shift to multigenerational homes as baby boomers retire and need somewhere to go other than nursing homes. Extended families are coming “together again” as children offer care and support to aging parents, or as parents support their adult children who are fighting for financial footing. It was interesting to see both adult children inviting parents to come live with them (usually in an “accessory apartment”) to help take care of them, as well as parents moving out of their main home into a smaller apartment while allowing their children to live in the main house.

Especially interesting to me:

  • Chapter 10 about overcoming the social stigma of living together. The authors had some strong opinions about how the specifically American culture of big houses and huge spaces and “independence” has caused breaks in the “interdependence” that the rest of the world enjoys — and at a high cost to the environment and family relationships.
  • Chapter 9 about making your home accessible to seniors. This was the first I’ve really read details about “universal design,” where light switches are built a little lower and plugs a little higher so that someone in a wheelchair could more easily access them, along with many other similar changes.
  • The story from Chapter 8 about a family that built a 6,800 sq. ft. house in Fairfield, California (just half an hour from me) with two siblings and their respective families as well as the parents of the siblings (so three households).

Okay, most of my “book reviews” will never be as long as this one, but this book was interesting to me!

Food and Booze edited by Michelle Wildgen, a collection of essays from Tin House.
Never heard of the publication before, but the title — at least the first half — caught my eye. Seeing as how I don’t like the taste of alcohol and can only stand it when heavily disguised with other sweet beverages, I wished there were more “food” articles and less “booze” ones. There were some interesting-sounding recipes (including wild elk recipes!) with some of the essays, but none that I copied down.

DOM Scripting by Jeremy Keith.
Figured it was time that I learn. The content was clear and concise. The topic — separating behavior from content, which has already been separated from presentation with CSS. Brilliant! Couldn’t wait to start applying what I learned to some of my projects, although when I did start coding away, I wished I had a resident DOM scripting guru at hand to make sure I was “doing things right.”

With a bookmark:
(Books I just started reading, or books I’ve been “reading” for ages. Most recent first.)

  • PopCo by Scarlett Thomas (library book)
  • Transcending CSS by Andy Clarke
  • Wild at Heart by John Eldredge
  • A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson

Library book box:
(I will probably finish these before some of the poor books that have bookmarks in them)

  • The Destruction of the Books by Mel Odom
  • Lord of the Libraries by Mel Odom
  • The Black Gryphon by Mercedes Lackey and Larry Dixon
  • The White Gryphon
  • The Silver Gryphon
  • Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde
  • Something Rotten by Jasper Fforde (first of the series is on hold at the library)
  • The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Susanna Clark

4 thoughts on “Book bag

  1. I see I have influenced a few of these.. Enjoy PopCo.. it *rocks* I will probably reread it this summer.🙂 Fforde’s looks fascinating by the title.🙂 Happy Reading!

  2. Hee hee!

    Wait, you skipped a Fford book (my favorite one). _The Well of Lost Plots_ comes between _Lost_ and _Rotten_. That’s the one that explains all the Book World stuff. If you need a copy to borrow, I can hook you up!

Leave a Reply

