Out of the book bag…

Just finished reading:

PopCo by Scarlett Thomas – For some reason this book reminded me of a mix of The DaVinci Code with the movie version of Fast Food Nation (I haven’t read the book). Throw together some social commentary about the over-marketed toy/kids industry, some cool puzzles and cryptography, and an interesting heroine who doesn’t like being like everyone else, and you have an excellent novel that kept my attention all the way through.

The Black Gryphon, The White Gryphon and The Silver Gryphon by Mercedes Lackey and Larry Dixon – I may have read Mercedes Lackey books a while ago but they were not impressive enough to make any mental mark on me. I wasn’t especially enthralled with The Black Gryphon, but I thought the other two had good stories (political intrigue and clashing of cultures in White and “wilderness survival” type storyline in Silver) and enjoyed them. I’m now more motivated to pick up other novels within the same “series.”

The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Susanna Clark – A collection of short faerie-related stories by the author of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. Similar to Jonathan Strange, the stories are written in various old “dialects” which I think was half the fun of reading them.

With a bookmark:
(Books I just started reading, or books I’ve been “reading” for ages. Most recent first.)

  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (picked up this week)
  • Transcending CSS by Andy Clarke
  • Wild at Heart by John Eldredge
  • A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson

Library book box:
(I will probably finish these before some of the poor books that have bookmarks in them)

  • The Destruction of the Books by Mel Odom
  • Lord of the Libraries by Mel Odom
  • Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde
  • The Well of Lost Plots by Fforde (picked up this week)
  • Something Rotten by Fforde

3 thoughts on “Out of the book bag…

  1. PopCo – thanks for the recommendation. I will add that to my list. Hee hee – Thursday Next wierdness. Let me know when your head starts spinning.🙂

  2. My sister gave me PopCo, and I really loved it. I also had a huge crush on the heroine as i read it, of a magnitude I had not experienced since reading Pattern Recognition.

  3. Dave – I’ll have to check out Pattern Recognition!

    Doodah – Maybe because you prepped me, but my head isn’t spinning any more than it usually does (considering I currently have a slight fever). I’m enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

