May Review for Groundhog Day Resolutions

Cheering groundhogToday is Groundhog Day Resolution review day! How are you doing?

I have a rather ambitious list of GDRs — 15 “active goals” + 4 “inactive” — although I specifically choose to only target 7-10 for “action” each month with monthly milestones.

Here’s how they break down:

  • 3 goals are health/body-related:
    • goal weight to maintain
    • exercise goal
    • nutrition goal
  • 4 goals are work-related:
    • develop a brand for “me”
    • learn specific new skills
    • develop alternative revenue streams (aka start a new side business)
    • learn to build my own computer (that one is an “inactive” goal)
  • 3 goals are personal/hobby-related:
    • have established routines
    • buy a house (inactive – no plan yet)
    • have a stained glass studio in my house (inactive – requires a house)
  • 9 goals are character/social-related — some examples are becoming more comfortable at small talk and being a joyful person.

Of my 19 goals, I had 11 specific goals that I targeted with milestones this month. How did I do?

  • Health/body:
    • How I did: My three exercise/health goals had 2 out of 12 mini-milestones checked off. Eep! I got up to 15 minutes of running and then slacked off, then got sick.
    • Next month: I’m going to take the “just do it” principle for this next month. My mini-milestones aren’t unrealistic, I think, I just need to do them!
  • Work-related goals went much better.
    • Branding goal:
      • How I did: My branding milestone was time-related — to spend 40 minutes thinking about my brand/logo. I think I ended up spending about 3 hours, and even read a book about branding.
      • Next month: I’m going to dedicate at least 1 hour to thinking more about this.
    • Work skill goal:
      • How I did: Another one of my main milestones for the month was to go through a DOM scripting book and apply the new knowledge to a site I’m developing for New Side Business, which I did.
      • Next month: I’m choosing to take a break on this one next month.
    • Small business goal:
      • How I did: My final small-business-related mini-milestones were mostly checked off. But the main milestone, which involved registering a new business name, didn’t happen. I kept procrastinating and slacking and avoiding entering the bowels of city hall.
      • Next month: Dave Seah had a great insight for how to attack new “project-like” goals by scheduling in specific time to accomplish the milestone after 7-12 days, so I’m going to try that out for this next month.
  • Routines:
    • How I did: My routine milestone was to fill out all the bubbles on my tracking form at least 1 time a week. That happened exactly once last month.
    • Next month: Shirley suggested in a comment that I pick a specific day to try to target this goal, so I’ve adjusted my milestone this next time to target Wednesdays.
  • Character/social:
    • How I did: Of my other four milestones, all but one were met.
    • Next month: I made a new plan for that fourth milestone.

If you’re curious about how I set and work on “character goals,” I’ve used Steve Pavlina’s suggestions on setting subjective goals by assigning a numerical value to them. So, for example, the specific goal “I am a joyful person” has been quantified to mean that I would like to be at least an 8/10 in being “joyful,” while I would consider myself as starting out at about a 5/10. (Now, that probably doesn’t mean much to you, but I know what those numbers mean for me, and that’s what counts, right?) As for how I would “become more joyful,” my current action item is to write down five things that I am truly grateful for every day. Research has shown that this has a positive effect on one’s attitude. I haven’t thought very carefully about what other action items I might want to incorporate in the future; perhaps they would involve targeting moments when I don’t feel joyful and analyzing them in my journal (spending x amount of time per week, say).

Anyway, I don’t take it too hard that most of my milestones weren’t checked off. Even the slight progress I’ve made by having set those milestones and achieving some of them is encouraging!

One thought on “May Review for Groundhog Day Resolutions

Leave a Reply

