Me, Illustrated… and the Mouth of Sauron

Heavily inspired by Paige Pooler and this guy at istockphoto, I’m trying a new style of illustration. I call it the “retro round-head big-eyed woman-look.” (Take a look at the links and you’ll see what I mean.)

So, here is my first attempt at a retro round-head big-eyed self-portrait using Illustrator:

Question — should I go with bigger eyes or smaller eyes?

The one on the right (smaller eyes) was traced in Illustrator from my original scan, but thanks to the power of vector graphics I increased the size of the eyes and eyebrows for the left version while keeping everything else the same.

When I was making the eyes bigger, I had a sense of deja vu, but realized that I was just remembering a scene from the special features on the Return of the King Extended Edition DVD, where Weta Digital increased the size of the Mouth of Sauron’s mouth to make it look especially weird and creepy. Luckily enlarging the eyes didn’t make my self-portrait look too weird and creepy; I could really go either way but thought I would solicit opinions as well!

4 thoughts on “Me, Illustrated… and the Mouth of Sauron

  1. I think I may be biased toward the big eye version b/c most avatars, etc. use that style. It does look bright and friendly. Not at all weird and creepy.

  2. is it weird or creepy that I’m chiming in to say that I prefer the bigger eyed version too?! ( I totally did a google search on myself and recognized your name) Both are adorable but I prefer the bigger eyed version. it’s actually a subtle difference and not at all too big, weird or creepy. You totally didn’t need my help—your work is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

