Running out of room in the book box

I am picking up too many books from the library and not bringing enough back, so I may need to forgo my weekly library trip this week.

Finished this week:

Mommy Millionaire by Kim Lavine – The personal story, including many “tips and secrets” for starting your own business, creating your own product, and becoming a “mommy millionaire,” of the creator of the “Wuvit.” Although I’m not trying to be a “mommy millionaire,” I appreciated that she didn’t downplay the challenges she faced and mistakes she made, and some of her suggested resources for starting a business were helpful. I think it would be a good book if you want to try to get into retail with a new product idea.

Why Does My Dog Act That Way? by Stanley Coren – Steve and I don’t have a dog anymore, but we loved it when we did, and we are only waiting for a house with a yard to provide us with the excuse to get another dog. This book was fascinating to me (after the first few chapters, which the author uses to try to establish why he is being so bold as to use the term “personality” in relation with dogs and what kind of personality traits he used to categorize dogs). I enjoyed reading about the research and tips for developing a “superdog” (which involves various simple routines and training starting as early as when the puppy is two days old), was appalled by the chapters about the dog fighting industry, and laughed out loud at the very last story of the book, about “dogs saving animals.”

Lord of the Libraries by Mel Odom – The sequel to The Destruction of the Books. I chose to reserve judgment until after finishing the second book (trying to give the new fantasy “series” a chance to kick in). I did, indeed, find the plot of the second book much more interesting. I thought the pacing was rather fast near the end of the book, and it seemed that a whole lot more happened this book than in the first one. I can’t say that I enjoyed the writing style overly much and would probably not read these again. If you are curious, however: Both books focus on a hobbit-like creature named Juhg, who goes through various crazy adventures in a world infested by “goblinkin” who are set on destroying all books. Juhg first witnesses the destruction of the secret hidden library (which has been saving books from the goblinkin) in the first book, then goes on a rescue mission-slash-treasure hunt in the second book, accompanied by elves, dwarves, and a wizard. If it sounds a bit Lord-of-the-Ring-ish, I think it’s supposed to.

With a bookmark:
(Books I just started reading, or books I’ve been “reading” for ages. Most recent first.)

  • Not Buying It: My Year Without Shopping by Judith Levine (picked up this week)
  • The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp
  • The Elements of Typographic Style by Robert Bringhurst
  • Transcending CSS by Andy Clarke
  • Wild at Heart by John Eldredge
  • A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson

Library book box:

  • The Hive by Bee Wilson
  • The Wild Out Your Window by Sy Montomery
  • Spell of the Tiger by Sy Montgomery
  • Search for the Golden Moon Bear by Sy Montgomery
  • See Jane Lead by Lois P. Frankel
  • Murder By the Book by Rex Stout
  • Twilight by Stephanie Meyer (this and below picked up today)
  • Getting Things Done by David Allen

4 thoughts on “Running out of room in the book box

  1. I’ve got _A Long Obedience in the Same Direction_ too. Would it be helpful to “book club” the book? (Sometimes that helps me actually finish a book that’s been lingering awhile.) How do you like _Not Buying It_

  2. Doodah – I don’t think I have free time for a book club right now, so it will just sit at the bottom of the stack for a while! Will post about Not Buying It in my next book post.🙂

  3. Not buying it has sat on my shelf for at least a year now. *sigh* I found it ironic to purchase, but was excited because I scored a galley for 97 cents.😉

Leave a Reply

