Reading update

Picked up just a few books this week at the library, and am proud to say that I’m making my way through some of the books that have been in-progress for months.

Perhaps it’s not a surprise that the two books I did finish this week perfectly reflect the main focus of my blog entries the past two weeks: Getting Things Done and cats.

Finished this week:

Getting Things Done by David Allen. I skimmed this book back in January and read it in more detail this time around. See my blog post for how I’ve converted to trying to fully implement GTD.

Essential Cat by Caroline Davis. This Reader’s Digest photo-heavy book was one of the ten books I browsed at the library (out of the 50 available) that had actual details about mother cats and kittens during birth and immediately after. Apart from providing lots of ooh- and awww-able cat and kitten pictures, it answered some of the questions I had:

  • Do I need to do anything while the mom is giving birth?
    Not really. She chews the umbilical cord through, cleans the kittens, etc. Only if she seems very, very tired, should I gently place an unlicked kitten in front of her face. There is always room for complication, and this book did give some overview of possible problems.
  • How do the kittens eliminate before they’re old enough to go in a litter box?
    The mom licks them to stimulate elimination and eats whatever comes out. I wouldn’t want that job, but at least I don’t have to worry about it for a few days/weeks.
  • How old do the kittens need to be before giving them away?
    About eight weeks.

With a bookmark:

(Books I just started reading, or books I’ve been “reading” for ages. Most recent first.)

  • It’s All Too Much by Peter Walsh
  • The Wild Out Your Window by Sy Montomery
  • The Elements of Typographic Style by Robert Bringhurst
  • Transcending CSS by Andy Clarke
  • Wild at Heart by John Eldredge
  • A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson

Library book box:

  • How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

Leave a Reply

