My favorite summer drink: Blackberry Limeade

Blackberry LimeadeMy friend Lucy made this drink for me the other day and it shot up to the top of my favorite summer drink list. Occasionally we can find fairly inexpensive blackberries at fruit stands, local produce shops, or the Farmer’s Market. I think this would work well with frozen berries, too, although I have yet to try it.

Makes about 3-4 servings, depending on how greedy you are.

  • 3 cups blackberries (reserve 8-12 blackberries for garnish)
  • 3 cups water, divided
    Update 7/18 – I just found out that this should be SIX cups of water, not 3. Definitely changes the taste! I prefer the concentrated less-water taste, but you might like the thinner version (and get more drink for your money) as well.
  • 2/3 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (reserve 3-4 slices of lime for garnish)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ice
  1. Blend the blackberries with 1 cup of water in a blender until totally pureed.
  2. Strain the blackberry juice through a fine-mesh strainer into a large bowl or drink container. You will want to stir around the puree with a spoon to “help” the straining process, as it’s rather thick stuff.
  3. Add the remaining 2 cups of water to the blackberry juice. (I poured the water through the strainer, too, to try to get more blackberry juice out of the puree.)
  4. Add the lime juice and sugar to the blackberry juice mixture. Stir until dissolved.
  5. Fill a glass with ice, then pour in the juice and top with a slice of lime and a couple blackberries. (The juice is very thick; the ice helps to dilute it.)

Our local produce shop had run out of blackberries the first time I tried to make this, so I attempted a batch using fresh strawberries. The strawberries proved impossible to strain, so I ended up just having really thick strawberry puree with a hint of lime… not exactly the same stuff! I’m curious how this would taste with cherries, but I’m unwilling to pay the $4,296 it would take to purchase 3 cups worth of fresh cherries for something that may not turn out well. Plus I’d have to pit all those cherries.đŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “My favorite summer drink: Blackberry Limeade

Leave a Reply

