Reading update

Finished reading:

Pistol by Mark Kriegel – Steve wanted to check this book out, but I ended up reading it first. Pistol is about the life of “Pistol” Pete Maravich, one of basketball’s greatest stars who was way ahead of his time in understanding that people want to see showmanship in basketball and could do things that astounded people. The book starts out inevitably with his father, “Press” Maravich. It’s sort of like a biography about both; their lives and influences on each other were so intertwined. Well written sports biography.

Doc Halligan’s What Every Pet Owner Should Know by Karen Halligan – A couple of things I learned from this book:

  • Feeding tuna (or any human food, really) to cats is bad!
  • The life expectancy of an outdoor cat is 3-5 years on average. (This shocks me when I think about my in-law’s 17-year old cat who is a mostly outdoor cat.)

Overall, this book advocates responsible pet ownership and would be good to read if you were considering getting a pet, as it’s very realistic about the rising cost of having a pet. I mostly skimmed through the book — if I need details later, I know where to find them!

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling – Because I knew I wouldn’t get work done if I started book 7 during the week, I read through book 6 instead. Surprisingly, although I own the paperback, I had only read book 6 once, when it first came out. This time I was able to read it slowly (for me) and enjoy the nuances.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling – I read the first part of the book out loud with Steve last night and then stayed up until midnight to finish it off. I have to admit that 4 of my 6 “predictions” about the fate and/or involvement of various characters and objects were completely off. No spoilers here — let’s just say that I completely enjoyed reading it and was quite surprised by different developments.

With a bookmark:

(Books I just started reading, or books I’ve been “reading” for ages. Most recent first.)

  • The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
  • The Elements of Typographic Style by Robert Bringhurst
  • A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson

Library book box:

  • The Miracle of St. Anthony by Adrian Wojnarowski

2 thoughts on “Reading update

  1. Re: HP & tDH – I made 4 predictions to my wife just before the book came out (after I re-read 4,5,&6!!) and got three out of four! My wife says it’s 2/4, because the one thing (no spoilers) didn’t really happen because it wasn’t permanent.

Leave a Reply

