Slow reading week

Working hard this week = less reading.

Finished reading:

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy – I picked this book up because it was one of entropicon’s favorite books and the title sounded interesting. The book mostly follows a pair of fraternal twins, jumping back and forth between past and present, but as it develops you start to see how the twins were deeply wounded in their childhood by adults who are supposed to take care of them while the adults are living out of wounds of their own. The language is beautiful but I felt sad at the end as there wasn’t really any redemption, just more wounds all around.

With a bookmark:

(Books I just started reading, or books I’ve been “reading” for ages. Most recent first.)

  • The Miracle of St. Anthony by Adrian Wojnarowski
  • The Elements of Typographic Style by Robert Bringhurst
  • A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson

About to pick up from the library:

  • Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George

6 thoughts on “Slow reading week

  1. I feel honoured that a book was read because of mere I🙂 I do agree that there was a distinct lack of redemption, although perhaps that is where the author was coming from with the clashes of class and the ‘Christian’ main family. A religion that is founded on redemption ultimately failed in this situation. Maybe the ‘hope’ is found in our own journeys as we forgive and love unconditionally as Christ did.

    What I really loved about the book was the wonderful language that was used, there were so many phrases I highlighted.

  2. Thanks for your comments, entropicon! I did wonder if the author was against Christianity — or religion. I agree that the language was really beautiful; it was a bit jarring to have it describe what were some pretty sad/ugly situations.

  3. (P.S. Speaking of books which cried out for redemption… that was my overwhelming feeling as I read ‘the kite runner’…)

Leave a Reply

