corriehaffly.com redesign

Previous rounds: v1, v2, v2.1

As I mentioned in my August goals review, I was going to try to carve out time on 8/13 to work on getting my new web site design up.

And I did!

www.corriehaffly.com

The rest of this week, I’m going to try to commit an hour each day to clean things up.

  • The older HTML is a bit sloppy, and I want to make it a little bit more semantic (using strong instead of bold, for example).
  • I changed “services and rates” to just “rates” and “portfolio” to “work,” so the page titles (and file names?) will need to reflect this change.
  • I need to weed older stuff out of my portfolio and add some newer projects.
  • I might switch to the larger thumbnail (bottom of the home page) for the main work page.
  • I want to think about what else I can do for the right column and dividing sections. Something with the headings? Some sort of divider? It’s missing something, but I’m not sure what quite yet. Maybe more fun/whimsy.
  • I want to think of more clever things to put in the talk bubble for each section.

I can’t say that I love this new design (whereas I do love my Custom Shadow Box design), but it will do for now.πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “corriehaffly.com redesign

  1. Now, did you intend to use a serif font? Or is my browser wonky? I’m asking cuz, usually, you go for sanserif, and I want to make sure I’m seeing what I should be seeing.

  2. Cool! Looks great! Two thoughts: 1) the color is kind of feminine though I personally like it. I just wonder if it might turn off guys? 2) I think you should just go for a totally comic graphic look because the strongest part of your website is the humor and cartoons. I love the cartoon on top. Just my two cents.

  3. Oops just to clarify, I don’t mean you should make it like a comic book. I just think it would fit better if you went for a style like those cool illustrations you did for your custom box site. More graphic in looking, less photograph-y like.

  4. Angela – 1) The color will change from season to season (see Round 2.1 – link at top). 2) You said you like the cartoon — do you mean the one on the home page, or the one that plays with the logo?

  5. congrats! i really like the strip at the top of the main page of one’s potential experience without you. i keep the mouse but end up trying to heave the rest of it.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

