Old-fashioned samlet

I’m long overdue for another food post, considering how much I enjoy to cook and eat. Today, I’ll introduce you to an invention by one of Steve’s former roommates: The Samlet. I think that’s a mix between “sandwich” and “omelet.”

Samlet.

Similar to a sandwich and an omelet, the samlet can take many various forms, but the basic premise is the same:

  • two pieces of toast
  • a sweet spread (jam, marmalade, jelly, etc.)
  • an optional salty spread (butter, mayonnaise, ketchup, etc.)
  • a fried egg
  • a form of processed meat (salami, sliced deli meat, bologna, etc.)

I have to admit that the first time I watched Steve eat one of these things, I was a bit grossed out. But the combination of sweet and salty is pretty intriguing and something I’ve come to enjoy. It’s also great for using up whatever you have in the fridge, which I think is what originally inspired its creation (or maybe Brian just ran out of mayo and mustard). We’ve heard it said that McDonalds got the inspiration for the McGriddle sandwich from his forward-thinking invention.😉

The samlet version I have in the photo above consists of whole wheat bread, lightly toasted, spread with plum preserves, with a slice of bologna and a fried egg. Delicious.

One thought on “Old-fashioned samlet

Leave a Reply

