Reading: Pregnancy, Bourne

Finished reading:

I’m listing some of the pregnancy-related books I’ve read or started over the past several weeks that I didn’t want to share about before breaking the news.🙂

The Miracle Within by Jack McCubbin, M.D. – This short book of gorgeous and incredible photography and inspirational quotes provides a succinct summary of fetal development from conception to birth.

The Bourne Ultimatum by Robert Ludlum – The third book in the Bourne series. As I’ve mentioned before, the plot of the books are completely different from the movies. In this book, Carlos the assassin (from Identity) is on a mission to try to kill Bourne and his family. On top of that, the ex-soldiers who were part of the same covert operations group that Bourne used to be in have formed a global, powerful, dangerous network. They’re also after Bourne, afraid that he’s going to expose them. Dead bodies and explosions abound.

This is the last of the Bourne books written by Ludlum — there are two more, written by a different author (The Bourne Legacy and The Bourne Betrayal) that I’m not interested in reading. I found the plots of the three books quite thrilling, although the writing style bugged me — the characters tend to speak in italics and exclamation points and “darling” seems to be the only affectionate term used by couples.

With a bookmark:

(Books I just started reading, or books I’ve been “reading” for ages. Most recent first.)

  • The Young Unicorns by Madeleine L’Engle
  • Body, Soul, and Baby by Tracy Gaudet
  • What to Expect When You’re Expecting by Heidi Murkoff, Arlene Eisenberg, and Sandee Hathaway
  • The Elements of Typographic Style by Robert Bringhurst
  • A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson

In the library book box:

  • Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer

2 thoughts on “Reading: Pregnancy, Bourne

  1. I am waiting for New Moon and Eclipse to come out in paperback, and will probably read them when they do, although I will say I found the main character annoying. Or perhaps it was that the author made so many references to her being clumsy but never explained it? “buy my next book to find out more….!”

    I read the Ludlum books when they first came out. (yes I am much older than you) I would classify the writing style as “guy romance novel”. The “Sharpe” series by Oliver Cornwall is similar, a good read but not a great read.

  2. I checked out Eclipse (was on hold for three weeks) without realizing I had missed New Moon! I put New Moon on hold as well — unfortunately I don’t know if I’ll get it before I have to return Eclipse, at which point I’ll have to go through the hold list again…

Leave a Reply

