Weekly Update: Reflection and Reset

This was a good week for reflection. I revamped my goals and did a bit of bigger-picture thinking with work as I read through The 4 Hour Workweek.

Based on my revamped goals, here’s how my week has been going:

  • Health/fitness:
    • Weigh myself daily –πŸ™‚
    • Walk 30 minutes every day –πŸ™‚ Hooray! Well, to be honest, on Wednesday I didn’t walk in the morning, but Steve and I biked to the gym so I think that counts as exercise.
    • Keep track of blood sugar and diet –πŸ™‚
  • Work:
    • Complete 3/6 small biz client projects –πŸ˜€ I have two small changes to make to a client site, but then the invoice is off!
    • Bonus: I reconnected with some of my contacts about writing more articles.
  • Personal:
    • Keep up gratitude journal –πŸ™‚

I’ve also decided to add one more goal. Steve and I would really like to own our own home. We have been thinking it would take a long time to save up money, etc., etc., but after meeting with a financial planner it looks like we could do it sooner than later in terms of pulling together a down payment, although I’m not sure yet how our monthly budget would fare. So, here are some new milestones for me to complete by 11/11:

  • House:
    • Finish reading book about buying first-time home.
    • Look at budget and analyze to see if we could afford monthly expenses.
    • Talk to mom about borrowing money.

Thanks to people who have commented this past week: Kate Davis, Sally, Diana, Kristine, ClickerTrainer, Margaret, BlueBeetle(one), Bog, vikas, and Penny.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Update: Reflection and Reset

  1. I’m totally cheating on my “fast” by reading your blog, but what book are you reading for the 1st home? I’m gathering books to read too, and welcome any recommendations.

  2. You can TOTALLY buy a home, it is scary, but totally doable. Talk to me before you sign up for any mortgages, but it’s possible and might not be as expensive as you think, don’t forget tax break.πŸ˜‰

    Now, that is true as long as you aren’t having the constraints we have on what we want to buy here in NYC. [my husband bought this apartment but it’s not for two.]

    YAY for all theπŸ™‚ this week. I’m going to do my best to get two invoices out before 5:30.

  3. First time commenter here!

    Really enjoying your blog and you organistion of personal goals and deadlines. I think this is something I might start.

    But what happens if you don’t make it?

  4. Corrie, before you decide to buy a house have a read of this blog entry: http://millionairemommynextdoor.blogspot.com/2007/10/can-renting-play-part-in-american-dream.html
    I haven’t read all her entries about how she gets to the conclusions she does but she’s arguing that in some circumstances you are in fact financially better off renting. I’d never heard anyone argue this so thoroughly and found it really interesting reading. It may not fit your situation at all, but it’s good food for thought.

  5. Hi Paul – Welcome and thanks for commenting!

    I don’t beat myself up for not achieving some of my goals. They help to provide some direction and focus day-to-day, but as they are personal goals there are no real consequences for not achieving them.πŸ™‚ I do think it’s important to define them (or redefine them, as the case may be) in terms that show the value to myself so that I _want_ to try to accomplish them (for example, I would like to be in general good health so I can enjoy life more!).

  6. Hi Catherine – Thanks for the interesting link! I’ve rented for the past ten years, so I’ve definitely experienced some of the benefits described there. However, I’ve also rented for the past ten years in the same town, and as we’re starting a family, it makes sense for us to find something a bit more stable. I agree, however, that lots of people don’t consider the advantages that renting has to offer, only thinking that a house is the end-all and be-all.

Leave a Reply

