Weekly Update: Feeling great

Great week!

  • Health/fitness:
    • Weigh myself daily –πŸ™‚
    • Walk 30 minutes every day –πŸ˜€ This is turning into a general “exercise daily” goal. I’ve walked, biked errands, or gone to the gym every day this week.
    • Keep track of blood sugar and diet –πŸ™‚
  • Work:
    • Complete 3/6 small biz client projects –πŸ˜€ One project completed! The second got a big shot of work done this week. I’m expecting one last round of revisions before I wrap things up.
    • Bonus: I worked on some article drafts.
  • Personal:
    • Keep up gratitude journal –πŸ™‚
  • House:
    • Finish reading book about buying first-time home.πŸ™‚ Done!
    • Look at budget and analyze to see if we could afford monthly expenses.πŸ™‚ Done, but it’s not looking very good. Sigh.
    • Talk to mom about borrowing money.

Also, I forgot to post updates about my blog action day actions:

  • One-time: Swap the halogen light with the bedroom light.πŸ™‚ Did it later than intended, but done!
  • One-time: Call our city to request a free compost bin.πŸ™‚ Delegated to hubby who made the phone call. They sent us a booklet to read through and we have to fill out a form to get the bin. Haven’t done that part yet.
  • Ongoing: Start washing and reusing ziploc bags.πŸ™‚ Going well.

Applying some of the 4 Hour Workweek principles has definitely been a good thing.

  • I make a short to-do list at the end of my day for the next workday.
  • I don’t check my email until I get at least one of the major tasks done.
  • I “hide” myself from IM when I’m trying to power through something.
  • I do everything possible to get through my to-do list, keeping me from being distracted by other things.
  • I try to be done with work by the time Steve gets home — if not before — no matter when I start working in the day. This has given me some “down time” (which I spend reading for fun) when I get done early! I think there was only one day this week when I went over by half an hour after Steve got home because I had a late meeting scheduled.
  • I practiced saying “no” to a door-to-door salesman, a telemarketer, a friend who asked me to volunteer for an event, and a potentially stressful job that I didn’t think I could do in time.
  • I provided my first fixed project quote.

In combination with GTD, I’ve been feeling more in-control and less reactive this week. I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend! The only computer task I plan on doing is updating our budget spreadsheet on Sunday afternoon when Steve goes to play basketball.

5 thoughts on “Weekly Update: Feeling great

  1. Corrie, I just have to chime in. I have been in my 4th house now for 11 years. I think I know a little bit about buying homes.

    I bought my first house in 1986. I was 26. The interest rate was 14.5%. I paid $125K for a house that was bank owned and needed a LOT of work. My payments were $1800/month. It was, bar none, the worst house on the block. At that time (and does this sound familiar?) many folks were losing their homes to either bankruptcy, or “balloon payments”. Balloon payments are now illegal, but they bear a remarkable resemblance to zero-down/interest-only financing. I worked like a DOG on that house, and sold two years later for a 90K profit.

    Anyway, here is my advice. (1) figure out what you can afford. This should be no more than 30% of your gross. If you can’t do that, you will either have to rent, buy further out, or move to another state. (2) find the worst-looking bank-owned home, in the best neighborhood you can afford. Make a low offer. NEVER get emotionally attached to a home you are negotiating on — you must be able to walk away if the deal is not what you can afford.

    Do NOT buy a new home. You know those rules about not buying a new car because it just depreciates the moment you drive it off the lot? It applies double to homes. You are young and strong, buy a fixer-upper. Yeah, you may not be that handy, but you will learn. That’s why Home Depot exists. And yes Ace really IS the place.

    A fixer-uppper home may not be magazine-cover material, but always remember, it will be your home, and therefore precious. I will always remember my little “Cinderella” home in the SF Valley, sure it was a mess to start out with, it wasn’t perfect when I sold it either, but it was a roof over my head that I OWNED. I was able to get a dog (which I couldn’t in a rental), and I made a tidy profit on the place.

    At an interest rate of almost 15%, most probably wouldn’t have risked it, but I did, and I have never once regretted it.

    Last bit of advice, if you should end up with a home bigger than you need — EMPTY ROOMS ARE OKAY. Do NOT spend a bunch of cash furnishing them. After 11 years in my current home, I still have an empty “formal” living room, and a dining room with only a table (no chairs!). The type who care about how that looks probably have an unpaid VISA balance, ’cause they have overspent. Don’t go there.

    I wish you the best of luck with your dreams…..

    Splash’s mom

  2. Well done on a big week! I’m really impressed with all that you accomplish (and ashamed of myself for all the excuses I invent for NOT doing things).

    Congrats on the first fixed price quote, too – I hope it’s a really successful experiment. Contract Worker blog has a post this week on limiting the number of revisions in a contract that might be interesting: http://www.contract-worker.com/why-its-good-to-limit-the-number-of-revisions-on-your-contract/

    So well done on your week, and thanks for the inspiration!

  3. ClickerTrainer – thanks for the advice!

    Catherine – thanks for the encouragement and link! I already limit the number of revisions I do, so it’s nice to feel that I’m doing something right already.πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for sharing your take-away ideas on the 4 hour work week book.

    There’s a few there I really could benefit from implementing.

    “I don’t check my email until I get at least one of the major tasks done.”

    “I β€œhide” myself from IM when I’m trying to power through something.”

    I need to work on the distractions issue. I’m not sure why but lately I’m very easily distracted.

    Thanks, I’m also going to start keeping a gratitude journal.

Leave a Reply

