CSA Day 1: Free-range egg omelet and delicious fruit

Yesterday morning I eagerly cracked open our first free-range egg from Eatwell Farm. The chickens on Eatwell Farm are pasture-raised, which means that they can graze freely on bugs and run around happily.

I’d read that free-range eggs are supposed to be more brightly colored and have more nutrients than conventional eggs. So I have to admit that I was a little disappointed when I cracked the egg open and compared it with a conventional egg. Can you tell which is which?

Conventional egg vs. free range egg

Although I did notice that the free range egg shell was much harder, I didn’t notice a difference in color or taste (disclaimer: I’m continuously stuffy from pregnancy sinuses, so my taste tests may not be the most accurate!). (The conventional egg is on the left, if you were curious.) But I will continue to hopefully crack open the other eggs and see how the others look!

Anyway, I used my egg to make an omelet… First, I sauteed leftover mushrooms and onions that we had in the fridge with a small bit of butter:

Sauteeing mushrooms and onions

Setting those aside, I regreased the skillet with more butter and poured in the egg. After letting the first side settle, I flipped the omelet carefully and then added the mushrooms and onions, along with some olives, green onions, and shredded pepper jack cheese:

Making omelet

When the cheese was almost all melted, I carefully folded over one side and let it cook a little bit more. Delicious!

Completed omelet

I sent one of the Pink Lady apples with Steve to work and had one myself later in the day for a snack. It was deliciously chilled, crisp, and flavorful — one of the best apples I’ve had in a while! The apple just had one tiny bruised spot that I cut out.

After Steve got off work, we snacked on Satsuma mandarin oranges, also chilled, which were extremely easy to peel and very sweet.

4 thoughts on “CSA Day 1: Free-range egg omelet and delicious fruit

  1. It’s my understanding that eggs this time of year from Eatwell (and other local farms) are pale-ish because there’s not the lush greenery for them to eat that they get in the sprint. I usually can tell the farm egg because the yolk stands up very firmly when it’s cracked + raw in the bowl.

  2. Hi Corrie,
    I did the taste test thing the first time I got the Eatwell eggs. I cooked a conventional Safeway Lucerne, an Eatwell, and an Eggland’s best. The Eatwell and Eggland’s best definitely had a stronger “eggier” flavor. You will also notice the color of Eatwells will be much more orange in summer months. Have fun with your box. I’ve been Eatwell-ing for about a year. It’s been great.
    Teresa

Leave a Reply

