CSA Box: Catching up

Now to catch up on CSA Box food photos!

Tokyo turnips braised in soy sauce, mirin, sugar, and water; bok choy with soy sauce and garlic; teriyaki salmon.

This meal used up two items from my box: tokyo turnips and bok choy. I tried a turnip recipe where you braise the turnip in soy sauce, mirin (a sweet Japanese wine), sugar, and water, but totally overcooked them so they were really mushy. White rice and teriyaki salmon completed the meal.

Teriyaki sauce is actually quite easy to make, once you compile the ingredients. You will need a bottle of sake, a bottle of mirin, soy sauce, and sugar. The sake and mirin can be purchased in the alcohol section or Asian food section of most grocery stores, or you can find a specialty Asian food shop that carries them. Here’s what I do for making teriyaki salmon:

Teriyaki Salmon

  1. Blend 2 tablespoons of sake and 4 teaspoons of soy sauce in a shallow dish. Marinate the salmon in this mixture for 10 minutes (fleshy side down).
  2. Blend 1/4 cup of mirin, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, and 1 tablespoon of sugar in a small bowl. This is what will make the actual teriyaki sauce.
  3. Heat some oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Blot the fish fillets dry with a paper towel, then add to the oil  and cook 5 minutes skin-side down.
  4. Turn the fillets and cook for one more minute, then transfer to a plate and peel off the skin.
  5. Wipe away the grease from the pan with a paper towel, then add the teriyaki sauce. It may spatter a little bit. Over medium-high heat, let the mixture boil, then turn it down to medium and simmer for another minute.
  6. You can pour the sauce over the fish, or for extra flavor, put the fish in the pan and finish cooking it for another minute while spooning the sauce over the fish.

Salad with cilantro dressing

One of the CSA newsletters included a recipe for cilantro dressing, which was a nice way to use up some of the large bunch of cilantro that came in the box. I put together a salad with lettuce, a free-range egg, a Pink Lady apple, and the cilantro dressing to use up more items from the box.

Red cabbage with bacon and vinegar, pasta, and chicken

I wasn’t sure what to do with a small head of red cabbage until I looked through Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food cookbook. She had a recipe for red cabbage braised with bacon and vinegar. The meal plan included this dish with breaded pork cutlets; I didn’t have pork on hand but I had some chicken breasts in the freezer, so I filleted the chicken breasts, dipped them in flour, egg, and breadcrumbs, and fried them up, serving them with a generous dollop of dijon mustard. I also made a small side of pasta with store-bought pesto sauce mixed with sour cream for a creamy texture.

Salmon, daikon radish, and spinach

More salmon, this time baked and glazed with hoisin sauce. I tried making a quick pickle of daikon radish, but they were still way too spicy-strong for us! I’ll have to try slicing them thinner and possibly trying a different pickling recipe. Sauteed spinach rounded out our meal.

Pasta with arugula and creamy pesto sauce

Arugula is probably the most challenging item for me to use. I can only take the slightly spicy/bitter leaves in small quantities, so using a whole bunch in a salad is out for me. This time, I boiled the pasta and tossed it with chopped arugula until the arugula wilted, then added my shortcut creamy pesto sauce (pesto and sour cream). Delicious!

Pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and veggies

The America’s Test Kitchen Cookbook has a wonderful recipe for “skillet penne with sausage and spinach” which involves sausage, sun dried tomatoes, wilted spinach, chicken broth, and a cup of milk. The sauce is more watery than creamy, but I love the flavor and can eat a whole batch of this all by myself over several days! I decided to modify the recipe with what I had on hand — a can of diced tomatoes instead of sun-dried tomatoes, and a bag of stir-fry greens from the box (looked like some kale, chard, and I’m not sure what else). I forgot to reduce the liquid to account for the canned tomatoes so the sauce turned out REALLY watery, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying my meal!

Asparagus salad with goat cheese

Another recipe from Everyday Food involved breaded goat cheese which looked yummy, so I made up my own salad of lettuce, the Farmer’s Market first batch of tender asparagus, and a sliced-and-fried potato in order to try out the goat cheese medallions. Those involved slicing the goat cheese log into discs (most of which fell apart and had to be molded back together) and dipping the cheese into egg, then breadcrumbs. Drizzle olive oil on top and bake until brown, then add to the salad along with a basic vinaigrette. I added some chopped Fuji apple from our box as well to add some sweetness to the salad.

We’ve renewed our subscription for another 13 every-other-week deliveries, upping our egg allotment to a dozen and a half as we were going through them so quickly. So the CSA box goodness continues!

One thought on “CSA Box: Catching up

Leave a Reply

