Smart Strip

Smart StripI’m excited because I recently received my Smart Strip and plugged it in. My Smart Strip is a tan color, not the white that the product pictures show, but it works just fine!

The basic concept is that you can use the Smart Strip for one main appliance and related peripherals. Common uses would be for your computer/printer/drives/etc. or a home entertainment center. When the one main item is powered off, all the other peripherals have the power shut off to them as well, so you avoid electricity drain and save money! (The Smart Strip does include three plugs that are “always on” for things that you don’t want to be powered off — those are the red plugs.)

I first read about the Smart Strip at The Simple Dollar and finally tried to get one when we moved. Our local Office Max staff looked at me blankly when I asked about it, so I ended up ordering mine off of Amazon. Of course, a few days later, I saw them available at Ace Hardware along with other “green” products! Go figure.

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 28, 2008 at 6:11 pm | Permalink

    So cool! Have been wanting something like that. I will check into it! Thanks for the tip.

  2. Posted March 31, 2008 at 10:39 am | Permalink

    Interesting! We have enough electronics in our house between the tv, sound system, and several computers that would be something that would be worth looking into for the house.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

