Reading: YA novels and mysteries

Photo taken 6/2/2009

The Apostates Tale by Margaret Frazer – Another Dame Frevisse mystery. Sadly, our library system doesn’t have all of the books from this series, so this might be the last one that I read for a while.

The Anatomy of Wings by Karen Foxlee – Ten year old Jenny has lost her singing voice. How she lost it is tied up in the story of her sister’s lost innocence and eventual death (that’s not a spoiler – you find out about her sister in the first few pages) and her family’s disintegration. The novel was beautifully written but rather depressing. Not exactly a “feel good” novel.

Rebel Angels by Libby Bray – I gave an unfavorable review in my last reading post for the prequel of this novel, and I didn’t enjoy this one any more (although I still like the cover art). The author made ample room for another sequel, but I probably won’t be reading it.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore – Katsa is a Graceling – someone who has an exceptional talent – except that her Grace is that of killing. Her uncle, the king of one of seven kingdoms, uses her as a deadly tool to do his will, and she goes along with it until she comes across Prince Po, whose fighting Grace is nearly equal her own. Their friendship results in her discovery that her Grace is not all that she thinks it is – and soon she must turn her skills to untangle a plot that has the whole of the seven kingdoms in danger. This was a beautiful and enjoyable novel – I loved it!

A Spoonful of Poison by M.C. Beaton – Agatha Raisin, the self-centered, middle-aged, easily-obsessed sleuth in M.C. Beaton’s mysteries, is back with a vengeance, investigating a poisoning that happens during a village fete that she’s in charge of while trying to impress a good-looking widower. As with the other Agatha Raisin novels, I alternated between wanting to strangle Agatha in frustration and laughing at her escapades.

Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier – A long-awaited novel following the Sevenwaters trilogy, this one follows Clodagh, the daughter of Sean and Aisling (and thus the granddaughter of Sorcha from the first Sevenwaters book). The Fair Folk steal her baby brother and replace him with an odd child of leaves and sticks that seems alive only to her — and to the man who must share her quest to find her baby brother and bring him back. The dangerous journey that they make has the usual twists and turns in Juliet’s novels and was thoroughly enjoyable.

Foxmask by Juliet Marillier – A sequel to Wolfskin. Nessa and Eyvind’s daughter, Creidhe, is in love with Somerled’s son Thorvald. Thorvald goes on a quest to find his father and Creidhe sneaks along for the ride, only to find herself in a dangerous situation that could claim her life and those of her friends. Again, another rich novel by Juliet Marillier that I could barely put down to make dinner, take care of a baby, and work.

Trace by Patricia Cornwell – Another Kay Scarpetta novel.

Tales from the Dad Side by Steve Doocy – I’m finding that the “humor” genre just isn’t what I’m into. I enjoyed reading the jacket blurb and the first few pages but soon got tired of the wisecracks and ended up not finishing this book. I enjoy a dry wit and situational humor, but 224 pages of over-obvious comedy was more than I could handle.

Photo taken 6/10/2009

Edwin of the Iron Shoes by Marcia Muller – A new mystery series that I’m trying out and so far, have enjoyed. Sharon McHone is an investigator for a law firm, but turns to investigating a murder when one of their clients is killed.

The Midas Box by G.P. Taylor – I guess this is what you’d call a young adult thriller — sort of spooky, riveting page-turner, mixed with fantasy and myth. I had to quickly skim through it in an evening and morning because it was on hold and I couldn’t renew it – I’m glad I made the time for it.

Cruel and Unusual, From Potter’s Field, and The Body Farm by Patricia Cornwell – I’m finding that this is an unusual mystery series from what I’m used to reading in that characters can dramatically change from one book to the next as several years may pass from the events of one book to another. These earlier samples of Patricia’s books have been pretty intense – and the “bad guy” is not always apprehended by the end of the book. Now that I’m reading these in order, I’m enjoying them more

Leave a Reply

