Will design logo for iPhone

Or, My Fastest Logo Design Job Ever.

My coworker-friend-whom-I’ve-never-met-in-person, AKA SharePoint Queen herself, Heather Waterman, happened to ask me the other day if I wanted her old iPhone since she upgraded to a 3G. After finding out that it would impact us by $30/month for the data plan, I decided to go for it and asked how much she wanted for it. She said, “If you want to do a text logo for ‘Waterman Design Group’ we can trade for the iPhone… something simple.”

I had some time this afternoon while I was waiting for Steven to take a nap and pulled out my sketchbook to play with letter shapes. After several false starts, I started going with a W-crown, thinking of Heather as “SharePoint Queen,” but somehow that just didn’t fit the “Design Group” idea. I happened to notice an earlier idea (upper right) where the D and G shapes reflected each other and came up with the two on the bottom right, which were pretty close to how the final logo turned out.

sketches

Of course I had to mock it up in Illustrator to make sure it would work. I did 1-3 first and sent a quick screenshot to Heather, who happened to be on IM. She liked the D/G of 3 and the W/M of 1. I put those together to make 5, then tried #4 for more of an overlapped “N” shape. We both liked #5 better — I liked that the overlapped “M” could also be viewed as a backwards “N,” so you can either emphasize WaterMan or WatermaN — or kind of have WaterMaN all smushed up in there. Heather has a nice last name for a wordmark!

logo-idea1

Next I tried some color variations…

logo-idea2

But ultimately Heather decided she liked the original black/grey version, so then I played with the final logo with her company name.

logo-idea4

Total time: 1 hour, 10 minutes! That’s what you get when you have a dash of inspiration with fast Illustrator skillz and immediate feedback.

As it turned out, my logo rates compared to the amount she was thinking of selling it for turned out to be just about the same, so we were both very happy with the trade. Now I’m looking forward to joining the iPhone crowd!

5 Comments

  1. Kristine
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 8:48 pm | Permalink

    Woohoo! Welcome to iPhone world!! Great work :)

  2. Posted August 5, 2009 at 8:04 am | Permalink

    That’s really cool Corrie. I find it fascinating to see the design process stripped down and explained like that. Really like the final logo too!

  3. Michele
    Posted August 5, 2009 at 8:47 am | Permalink

    You are a queen, Corrie! :)

  4. gilda
    Posted August 5, 2009 at 10:55 am | Permalink

    Love the logo! Creative and very professional. And an iPhone to boot. Now you’re going to be entering the world of iPhone apps… I can just see some new ideas being sparked! Fun.

  5. Posted August 6, 2009 at 1:39 am | Permalink

    Nice job!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

