Oh yeah, I had a baby

A belated announcement, but we had baby Matthew on August 22, 2010! He was slightly smaller than his brother – a mere 8 lbs. 7 oz. and 20 inches long. The first three weeks were pretty difficult – Matthew was crying when he wasn’t eating and didn’t sleep very well, but I’m hoping we’ve turned a corner because the last few days have been relatively much more mellow.

Here’s the cutest picture that we have of him (a gas-induced smile, but cute nonetheless):

IMG_1249

I’m also happy to report that older brother Steven has not shown any signs of jealousy so far. On the contrary, he loves his “small brother” (as he defines it) and has already tried to change Matthew’s diaper.

On his own.

IMG_1168

I get back to full-time work in two weeks. I’ll still be working from home, though, so I will be taking breaks to feed Matthew and to support my full-time stay-at-home hubby. Wish him luck. ;)

4 Comments

  1. Posted September 21, 2010 at 4:41 am | Permalink

    Congratulations. I hope you are right and Matthew has settled to life in your family, rather than in your tummy!

    I hope the washable nappies are out again (and saving you money).

  2. dewitte
    Posted September 28, 2010 at 2:34 am | Permalink

    Good work! I’m glad you both came through. With two kids, you should spend more time reviewing that sh*tmykidsruined site. (I only have one, so it’s not as exciting, but two will give you lots of opportunities for Sharpie incidents.

  3. Posted September 30, 2010 at 11:39 am | Permalink

    Kate – thanks! Yes, we’re still using our BumGenius diapers (for both kids, since Steven is not at all into potty training). Hope you’re doing well with your baby, too!

    Dewitte – ha ha, I’d totally forgotten about that site! Time to add it to my RSS reader…

  4. Mirta
    Posted May 18, 2011 at 7:14 pm | Permalink

    They are so cute and well-designed :DDD Congrats to you all!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

